Blog.

About Learning Docker

Cover Image for About Learning Docker
Lee Robinson
Lee Robinson

In 2015, I spent weeks learning Docker.

I found it interesting, but more importantly, I believed learning Docker would help me grow in my career.

And it did. Working with Docker also improved my knowledge of bash scripts, CI/CD, and unix.

Now almost a decade later, I rarely use Docker. But I don't regret learning it. In fact, it taught me two valuable lessons.

  1. You can go far using abstractions. But you'll thank yourself for learning about the foundations that make up those tools.

    This meme is so good—there are a lot of things abstracted for you with Vercel. And if you want to appreciate what Vercel does, dig a layer deeper in your understanding.

    Like Harkirat from our community, who built their own version of Vercel's deployment pipeline, teaching people about queues (Redis) and file storage (S3).

    The same goes for frameworks like Next.js. How you would build your own web framework? Hacking together a version for yourself might improve your understanding of routing or bundlers.

  2. There isn't one path. One roadmap. One failure-proof way of becoming a great developer.

    In fact, you'll fail a lot. Someone wise once said "a senior developer is just someone who has seen that error 100 times".

    Follow your curiosity. Build things for yourself. Have a hunger for learning. And most importantly, don't feel ashamed for learning things your way.

Note: This content was taken from Lee Robinson's tweet.

Follow Lee Robinson on X.


More Stories

Cover Image for What is BaseHub?

What is BaseHub?

Unleash your content's full potential with BaseHub - the ultimate AI-Native headless CMS for all your digital needs.

Julian Benegas
Julian Benegas
Cover Image for Tweaking My Avatar

Tweaking My Avatar

Boost your avatar's uniqueness with creative adjustments! 🎨

Evil Rabbit
Evil Rabbit
Cover Image for Making the Web. Faster.

Making the Web. Faster.

A compelling overview detailing the methods and strategies employed to optimize website performance and enhance user experience.

Guillermo Rauch
Guillermo Rauch